22nd Annual

Nebraska Aviation Symposium

January 22-23, 2014

Schedule is tentative and subject to change.

Symposium Agenda        Directions/Lodging        Registration        Exhibitor Information        Sponsorship

(Printer Friendly Agenda and Registration Form HERE)

  1. Wednesday, January 22

  2. 3:00 - 5:00    Registration Desk opens

  3. 3:00 - 5:00    Exhibitor Set – Up

  4. 5:00 - 6:30    Reception with Exhibitors (Cash Bar)

  5. 7:00 - 9:00    Pilot Safety Meeting with Yasmina Platt, AOPA

  6. and Chris Manthe FAASTeam

  7. “Airspace and VFR into Instrument Meteorological Conditions"

  8. WINGS Credit Available

  9. *Sponsored By: Mid-America EAA 1091 and

  10. Kearney Aviation Center*

  11. Thursday, January 23

  12. 7:30am         Exhibit Hall and Registration Desk Opens

  13. 8:30am         General Session

  14. Opening Remarks

  15. Sandi Decker, Chair, Nebraska Aviation Council

  16. Ronnie Mitchell, Director, Nebraska Department of Aeronautics

  17. Joe Miniace, FAA Central Region Administrator

  18. Jim Johnson, FAA Central Region Airports Division Manager

  19. Washington Updates

  20. Pete Bunce, President / CEO - (GAMA) General Aviation Manufacturer’s Association

  21. (UAS) Unmanned Aircraft Systems, Operations and Applications

  22. Mark Blanks, UAS Program Manager - KSU - Salina

  23. 10:15am       Break with Exhibitors

  24. 10:45am        LB 140 Zoning Height Restrictions

  25. Russ Gasper, Project Manager – Nebraska Department of Aeronautics

  26. Diane Hofer, Airport Team Leader – Olsson Associates

  27. 12:00pm        Lunch

  28. 1:00pm         Concurrent Sessions:

  29. 1.  FlightPlanningTools – YasminaPlatt, AOPA

  30. 2.  NOTAMS Start to Finish – FAA Mid-States Operations Control Center

  31. 2:00pm         Concurrent Sessions:

  32. 1.Hangar Tenant Problems and Leases – Jay Morrow or Pat Burke, Wahoo Airport Authority

  33. 2.Airport Security at GA Airports – Paul Ross, TSA Federal Security Director for Nebraska

  34. 3:00pm         Break with Exhibitors

  35. 3:30pm         Concurrent Sessions:

  36. 1.NAAO Meeting - Public Engagement Communicating With Your Community – Hilary Fletcher, Jviation

  37. 2.Refresher Thoughts for Students and Experienced Pilots – Michael Ferguson, UNO Aviation Institute

  38. 5:00pm         Social Hour in Exhibit Hall (Cash Bar)

  39. Registration Desk Open For Maintenance Seminar until 6:00pm

  40. 6:00pm         Banquet

  41. Airport Awards by Nebraska Department of Aeronautics – Airport and Project of the Year

  42. Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award, 50-Year Pilot – Steve Stevens

  43. Aviation Hall of Fame Inductees – Evelyn Sedivy Cowing, Stanley N Dwyer and Harold E Dwyer

  44. Speaker – Living History of Clyde Cessna by Gary Krehbiel

Aviation Symposium:  Agenda

Rick Nunley, Diane Hofer, John Worthing, Charles Bourg

Sandi Decker, NAC Chair & George Hendon,

former FAA Central Region Airports Division Administrator

Tuskegee Airmen, 2008 Nebr. Aviation Hall of Fame Inductees

Doreen Welsh and Diana Smith

Home       Aviation Symposium      Maintenance Seminar       Conference Registration       State Fly-In       Members       Hall of Fame    Calendar of Events